MarathonMaiden's Blog

April 9, 2009

I <3 Spring

Filed under: Uncategorized — Tags: , , , , — marathonmaiden @ 16:19

Yes I do.  Sometimes I think that I really only like it because its right after winter, and I HATE winter.  With the heat of a thousand suns.  Spring weather is so random though (maybe because it’s New England, where the weather changes when the wind blows, or something like that) with a high today of 60* but this time last week we struggled to break 40*.  And I’m not going to discount the fact that we could get a blizzard, like, tmrw or something crazy but the general trend of weather is that it seems to be warming up.  And I enjoy that.  A lot. That said, it was 31* when I got up.  So despite Spring being here right now, my running is not benefiting from it.

Such is life I guess.  Well, I still was able to get a nice recovery run in.  The pace was prolly ridiculously slow but I didn’t worry about it / time myself.  I have a general idea of how long I was out there but hey, sometimes I just need to check my type A personality at the door right? Absolutely. After two days of double digit runs I needed to tone it down, so I planned to run my 6.2 mile route.  Apparently I have problems just stopping when I say I’m going to and I tacked on an extra mile at the end.  No bigs, except that I went to Spanish without having showered.  Hey, it was either no shower or no food.  And there was no way on earth I was skipping breakfast. Favorite meal of the day, hands down.  Anyone else feel me on that?

Back to running.  And recovery from tough stuff.  I find it really hard to incorporate it.  Ok, before y’all (is it obvious that I need to head South?) start reacting let me say that I *do* recovery stuff.   Over time pushing so hard makes me feel very run down both physically and mentally and I start to get cranky all the time beyond my typical complainer lifestyle. But after feeling spectacular from yesterday my first thought is that I want that again.  Give me another hit of this running stuff!  Plus if I want to rock my last 20 miler this weekend, I need to let my muscles get strong!

Tying running and weather together again, it’s supposed to rain on Saturday when I have my long run planned.  Bummed out because I really enjoy going long on Saturday but running in the rain (well anything other than Summer rain) is not enjoyable to me.  So I might have to move it to Sunday.  I’m such a creature of habit that it’s freaking me out.  No rational reason for it,  I just want to keep routine.  Kind of funny because there was a time when I would never have dreamed of running long stuff on Saturday.  In fact I started out this training cycle running ’em on Sundays.  C’est la vie.  Hopefully Mother Nature will take the hint and no rain on me.

So I’m not sure if I just wrote a cohesive post or not.  I tend to just write, then go back and cut things out, expand on other stuff.  Sorry if it was hard to follow! Even if you didn’t follow / understand / like it, please send some good weather vibes for Saturday? 🙂

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

