MarathonMaiden's Blog

April 15, 2009

Crunch Time

Filed under: Uncategorized — Tags: , , , , , — marathonmaiden @ 18:29

In many more ways than just one.

First the running, because I guess this supposed to be a running blog.  Whodathunk, right? Its TAPER TIME right now.  I’ve just begun the taper and technically wouldn’t crunch time have been the past 4 weeks when my mileage was sky high? Maybe, but anyways the taper is underway.  Or is it. My plan for today had me scheduled for 11 miles, 4 of which were in the form of mile repeats.  So basically a speed session. I did ’em, and every last bloody mile was on the treadmill.  And by bloody, I mean it in the British way, not the blood spurting everywhere way.  Felt ok, but I was thankful that I was on the treadmill, I mean the weather was really really nice out, but I needed the pacing of the good ole ‘mill because I could just feel all the glycogen in my legs being depleted.  My idea of a taper was, like, no running.  Or something.  Heh, guess I was wrong? Then again, I’m only in my first week of tapering and shouldn’t speak too soon.  I’ll let you know in a week in I feel the same 🙂

I suppose the crunch time is more so school stress related than running, because taper doesn’t really feel like it should be a crunch time; the hay is already in the barn (and yes I really do whip out these type of expressions in everyday speak.  You know you want to be me).  BUT I got an email yesterday informing me that my marathon is 19 (well now 18) days away.  I wanted to vomit.  It’s that close? Thinking about everything that’s going down in the next 3 weeks (aka the rest of the semester) is stressful enough. I don’t really want to think that I’ll be hauling ass for 26.2 miles on top of it.  Am I going crazy?

I am soooo busy from now until next Friday, at the earliest.  I have two full formal lab write-ups,  two Orgo exams, and  a Spanish composition.  Ok so typed out it doesn’t look like much, but the labs are going to be terrible because I have to *gasp* do research for each of ’em.  Plus to top it off, this weekend is Spring Weekend.  AKA lets-be-100%-drunk-Thursday-through-Sunday.  Yup, I go to one of *those* schools; where the people who drink to get drunk ostricize people who don’t.  I fall into the “don’t” category.  I mean, I’m all for a good time but I’m not willing to sacrifice *anything* so I can be drunk all day, for 4 days.  Ugh.  I think my game plan is to utilize the library during the day and then chill with the drunkards at night.  A good compromise, no?

To make school and the future even more of an issue, I got a letter in the mail saying that I need to start planning for graduation.  Like May 2010.  Seriously people, let me deal with the next 3 weeks before you tell me that I only have one year left and need to plan.  Anyhoo, off to go start tackling this monsterous mountain of work that is stressing me out.  Like anything in life, ( running, lab reports etc) the law of inertia comes into play; the hardest part is the start.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

