MarathonMaiden's Blog

April 22, 2009

Messy, messy, messy

Filed under: Uncategorized — Tags: , , — marathonmaiden @ 21:20

… Frosty anyone?

I’ve been musing lately over life and how messy it is.  Like, there are moments when it seems all neat and tidy but then there are moments when you feel like you have no control over events or anything else that goes down. Now I’m not going to turn this into a philosophical post or anything but like the saying goes, when it rains it pours.

A week ago I felt on top of my game: running, school, social stuff, sleep (hmmm almost all alliteration there!) all seemed to come pretty easy.  I’m a pessimist by nature I suppose so I knew it was a matter of time before the cycle of life brought me down.  Usually, though, the ball only drops on one aspect of my life. Right now it feels like everything is stressful.  I have formal lab writeups, papers and problem sets due very soon as well as another Orgo test on Friday.

Now I’m not writing this to illicit sympathy OR to have a “look how much work I have” competition with other.  And I’m semi-grateful that my taper is going on. I can’t imagine putting in a heavy physical week as well as such a mentally draining one. That said, I wish my legs would get the memo that they aren’t supposed to be so heavy and get out of the molasses they’re in! I had a tempo run this morning  and all I’m going to say is that thank god it was on the treadmill where my pace was pre-determined. I’ve been having some runs lately that have been wayyyyy less than par.  I sure hope it’s the taper thats making me feel this way, I definitely don’t want my legs to be so yucky come game time!

This awful feeling lets doubt creep into my mind as to whether I’ve bitten off more than I can chew with this marathon.   I need some positive thoughts! I *know* that I can do this.  I’ve put in so much time and energy and I’m damn proud that I’ve been able to keep everything together this semester.  But it’s just that time of year when everyone feels run down.

Hmmm so not much running related stuff but everything in my life is blurring together. But I did catch up on 24 as well as a couple of episodes of LOST (still season 3!) and watching that bamf-ness makes me happy for awhile. Small pleasures in life.  But that should give you an idea how much stress I’m feeling, I only watch t.v. *before* my hw is done when I’m feeling paralyzed by my stress.  Usually I have my early runs to look forward to but this taper is driving me crazy.  Guess that’s why they call it Taper Madness

But before I wrap up this post (which was a huge debbie-downer post) I’m going to plug http://nhershoes.blogspot.com/2009/04/bobbis-birthday-giveaway.html. Awesome giveaway!

1 Comment »

  1. I’ve read your workouts and you are going to be FINE on race day! You’ll probably even be GREAT. Your legs will come around.

    I took orgo and was depressed for the entire 2 semesters.

    Comment by runjess — April 24, 2009 @ 15:31


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

