MarathonMaiden's Blog

April 26, 2009

Another week gone

Filed under: Uncategorized — Tags: , , , — marathonmaiden @ 20:27

“Man I don’t know

Where the time goes

But it sure goes fast”

I can’t believe that there are SEVEN days until the marathon! I remember starting out week one and now I’m on week 16 as of tmrw.  I definitely need to step back and admire the work I’ve put into this training.  I thought that 20 miles would never happen, but my longest run was 22.  I didn’t think I’d be able to put in high miles when I was in school, but I hit 70 a few weeks ago.  If you had told me a year ago that I would be running a marathon, I would have asked you where I could get the drugs you were on.  So I must say that I’m happy that I’ve been able to push myself in this aspect of my life.

I am a little sad because today was the Groton 10k road race.  I won my age group last year (in my first 10k!) and I really really wanted to do it again this year.  Stupid 10k and marathon too close together! Obviously I’m hoping for a really good marathon time so I shelved the 10k but I just checked out the results and I definitely would have placed 2nd and had a very good run at 1st. LAME.  Hopefully missing out on this will pay dividends next week.

Also hoping that short runs will help me out.  I finished my last “real” run yesterday: 9 miles.  And I’m not going to be running anything over 5 this week [EDIT: I have a 7 on Wednesday, but I may chop that down].  GAH. I can’t believe that I’ve gotten this far in my training.  Very very nervous for this upcoming week, I need to keep telling myself that taking it easy is what my body *needs* (and very much deserves). I had my first test yesterday because I really wanted to push out an extra mile to get double digits plus I was running so smooth.  And with the weather, that was impressive to me. (on the weekends I head out late morning when the sun is bright)

I ended up getting a little burnt (note to self: WEAR SUNSCREEN) after running in strong sun and laying outside for most of yesterday and today, but it’s already turning into a nice tan.  I’m Scandinavian, I tan, however, like I’m Dominican.  Sooooo terrible, I know.  I really need to get better at wearing sunscreen, I don’t want to end up all leathery and wrinkly.  Yup, I’m vain enough to have my looks be an impetus over say, cancer.  Even though I’ve had numerous spots checked out for cancer. Ugh, I’m lame. Note to everyone reading, wear sunscreen and protect your skin!

But this weekend was soooooo nice, yesterday high of 76* and today it was 89*. Hooooooller! The only bummer is that there really hasn’t been *spring*; it’s gone from winter to summer with nothing really in between, hopefully this week chills out a bit and mother nature wakes up and recognizes what season it is.  And don’t get me wrong, I ❤ the heat but when I’m trying to push through the last week of classes (this week!) and finals, I don’t really want summer.  I’d prefer rain to keep me inside.

Time to start doing all the work that I avoided for my time in the sun!

1 Comment »

  1. I’m glad your legs are coming around! It’s race week–how exciting!

    Comment by runjess — April 27, 2009 @ 17:27


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

