MarathonMaiden's Blog

May 17, 2009

Ten

Filed under: Uncategorized — Tags: , — marathonmaiden @ 08:42

Humfh.  So this morning’s run didn’t go quite like I would have ideally liked.  I think I just need to get used to the summer-like weather that’s prolly here to stay.

Yesterday I took a rest day to go down to my school’s graduation ceremony.  I ended up sunburnt (but only on my right side) and slightly dehydrated (oh there’s a surprise haha).  At least I had the presence of mind to take off my sunglasses so I didn’t get raccoon eyes.  It was so hot and humid out though that the fact that the ceremony is traditionally pretty short was a god-send.

Anyway, back to this morning.  I was asked to work at my old job, a nursery.  A garden center nursery (as opposed to a child-care place).  Since I know that no running would happen after I get out at 5, I woke myself up at 6 to get 10 miles in beforehand.  Blahh, the last time I saw 6am was marathon day.  I have been spoiling myself rotten with 8 am wake-ups.  So my alarm was a huge slap in the face.  But I get up and go outside.  It’s been raining all night but its okay now, and one would think, with the rain and storm that passed through the humidity would be gone.  Well you can think that, but you’d be WRONG.

The humidity factor was in play big time, and it sprinkled a little during the run, but I finished ’em. Every. Last. One. This was my first double digit run since the marathon.  Now, it wasn’t super fast, or even remotely fast but it happened and I think I needed a double digit to catapult me back into not being scared of running far.  Granted, I could have picked better conditions to do this 10 in but the fact that I was able to complete it and not mentally (or physically) give up on a morning like today makes me happy.  And now I get to haul trees and mulch around and harass my co-workers who complain about it.  Because I ran 10.  That’s a distance most people tend to really respect. It’s  Double Digits man 🙂

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

