MarathonMaiden's Blog

May 27, 2009

Training with a purpose?

Filed under: Uncategorized — Tags: , , — marathonmaiden @ 09:21

I wrote my last post with the hope that the opposite would happen.  I bitch and moan about being a bad person because I’m too busy to do anything except what’s on my to-do list and magically (because I acknowledged it) everything goes away and I become able to fit everything in. Cleary not the case as I havent posted in a few days.  Oops.

This very busy life I have at the moment (its SUMMER ugh) is leading to me back to my super organized ways.  Typically after a semester ends, I loosen up a bit about how structured I am for a few weeks then pick things back up.  I’m getting back there because of the MCAT studying (t-10 weeks eeeek) and the research / internship plus my 2 other jobs.

BUT I’m still feeling lax about the running schedule. I’ve been going out and just doing whatever the heck I feel like.  Liberating? Sure, especially after a grueling 16 week marathon plan. But with other aspects of my life heading to setting up a schedule I think running should start to follow suit.  And what does that mean? It means that I should find a race like I talked about last post!

Unfortunately I’ve decided I won’t have time to *really* train at any decent level in the early summer, but if I pick a fall race the serious training would come at a time when the summer is winding down.  Granted school will be starting up but I’ve already proved myself when it comes to training during the semester.  This way, I’ll still have an impetus for me to push myself now and, as a result, my running won’t be at the la-la pace it is now.  Too slow to be of any training use but too fast to be considered slow/easy.

Plus it’ll add more stability to my life if I know what I’m going to be doing on any given day (running, mcat, researching and working wise).  So, a second post about racing? Guess I should really get on that.  I should try and pencil it in . . .

Oh and I’m done with LOST and I swear if you ever need to have something suck all the time out of your life, go watch it haha.  Luckily since it’s done I don’t have to worry about scheduling it in (because yes, during the school year television gets written down like everything else.  Man, I really am type-A hah).

1 Comment »

  1. I wish I had the problem of being too busy! I’m bored!

    Comment by Matt — May 27, 2009 @ 11:39


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

