MarathonMaiden's Blog

June 3, 2009

Happy National Running Day!

Filed under: Uncategorized — Tags: , — marathonmaiden @ 15:42

Seriously? Yup, seriously. I mean, every day is running day for me but I think it’s pretty cool that there’s an actual day to celebrate running.  Too bad I didn’t know this when I was running.  Don’t know if it would have changed anything about the run though, except maybe push me further than I planned, which is ok but my knee’s been acting up a bit and I want to keep an eye on it.

I got in 7 nice miles.  I’ve been in kind of a rut lately with my running.  I mean, my pace is going fine and my runs aren’t suffering but there’s a stiffling aspect the past few days.  It might be that I’m getting bored of my routes or that the pollen count is wayyyy high or I still haven’t picked out a future race.  Regardless of the reason I think I need to find a way to reinvigorate my running!

But back to today’s run because despite my little rut, it was really really good.  I don’t know if I’ve ever posted this but one of the reasons I run, maybe in the top 3 reasons, is for stress relief.  And man did I need it after the past few days I’ve had.

Now, don’t get me wrong, I love the stuff I’m doing but I have the bad habit to overschedule myself (yup big shocker there ha).  No surpirse then when my ambitious plans break my back.  This week I’ve been studying like crazy and the stuff I’m studying was never covered in my classes.  Great (insert eye roll here). Boo! So I’m frustrated and in a bad mood to begin with because I’m trying to learn this stuff rather than review and brush up on it.  Then this morning I decide to drive my moms car to do some errands with her.  She drives a standard and I have driven a standard, like, 3 times in my life.  So I know how to drive it but I stall out like crazy.  This bad mood just turned awful. What kind of medicine do I need right now? Well a vicodin would be perfect but I’ll take the next best thing: a run heh.

Ok, confession time: I have cried on runs before.  My reaction to frustration is tears.  This is the only time tears EVER come to me.  I have no problem admitting that the first 10 mins or so was tear filled.  I’ve always wondered how this looks to outsiders, they must think I’m dying of pain or something haha.  But after those 10 minutes everything was out of my system and the endorphins started pumping.  Bad mood? What bad mood? LOVE IT!

My knee isn’t hurting and my mind is clear.  I wish my biggest paragraph wasn’t the vent on my bad mood and was the one about the run but I was in a state of nirvana or something because I don’t really remember anything about it.  I left and suddenly I was home 7 miles later.

Mmmmm so here I am sitting at the table with my study stuff in front of me (and trust me I take over the entire table and then some!) but its ok because my run did its job,  I am (at the moment) stress free 🙂

1 Comment »

  1. GET BACK TO STUDYING!

    And happy running day!

    Comment by Matt — June 3, 2009 @ 21:31


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

