MarathonMaiden's Blog

June 22, 2009

Way to start a Monday

Filed under: Uncategorized — Tags: — marathonmaiden @ 14:51

Gosh, I just hate mornings when you have to be very assertive and harassing, borderline bitch, to get when you need. On a Monday too.  For a simple request. Let me explain:

For my internship I need to get a TB test, which I started the process last Monday when I went  in to get medically cleared.  The TB test is two injections, one week apart.  Now I didn’t mind going into the city for the first one, as I had other things to do there that day, but today? Well let’s just say I wasn’t too keen to make a long trip for a 30 sec shot. I called the hospital and they told me that, yes my primary care doctor (aka my pediatrician, don’t judge) could administer it and I can fax the official results in a few days.

GREAT! Or so I thought.  Apparently the doctors office didn’t want to do that; they didn’t think that one week was sufficient time to pass before injection #2.  Plus, they didn’t want to finish what the hospital started, which technically wasn’t true.  Eventually, while remaining calm yet holding back frustrated tears, I told them to call the hospital because the hospital said what I was trying to do was okay.  Well they didn’t want to do that so they scheduled me in for this morning AND let me book my reading of the test immediately.  Just as a note: I was in the actual office for less than 10 minutes, thank the lord I didn’t trek all the way to Boston for that. So it all worked out but my blood pressure is prolly 3x what is was when I woke up this morning.

To add insult to injury, when I got there I got “the talk” with my doctor.  The one that goes, sorry but as of your bday in the fall we can no longer provide care for you.  Because youre too old”.  Ouch.  So I had to schedule a “counseling appt” (legit that’s what they called it) and I figured I better get my money’s worth so I set up a physical for the fall too (it’s been a looooooooooooooong time since my last one, oops)

Anyway to lower my blood pressure I figured a raising of the heart rate was in order.  So I threw on my running shoes and hit the road.  I did a nice mile or so loop around the ‘hood and then hit the mat to do some circuit stuff while watching The View (yes I will cop to watching it, I find it a hilarious show).  It was pretty much the same thing as the last time I did a circuit so I won’t bore you with the details except to point out that I skipped the leg exercises because my legs were feeling a little off and I figured that I’d rather beat up my legs running than lifting anyway.  Maybe I’ll hit the weights for my legs tmrw. I do want to point out that I’m on Week3Day1 of the pushup challenge and I’m feeling strong.  Can’t wait for it to be over though so I can be bamf and bang out 100 in a row!

My run was a little on the boring side.  About 5.5 miles, maybe 6 at a nice leisurely pace.  No sense in really hurting my legs. The rain was spritzing a bit so it didn’t anger me at all especially when it cut the humidity by maybe 50%.  Maybe, due to this fact, I might start liking the rain. One interesting thing that happened was that someones house alarm was going off full throttle both when I ran my warmup and when I finished my run, which was a total of maybe 1.5 hours.  I did call the police to inform them of this and the woman who answered the phone said (with an exasperated sigh I might add), that they knew about it and the alarm wasn’t resetting itself.  I don’t really care because I live two streets over and can’t hear it from my house, but I don’t know how the neighbors can stand it; it was that loud.  And let’s face it, I know everyone on that street was home because no one works in this town.

I’ve definitely went over my (personal) word limit for the day, but I figured that it might be interesting reading that beaurocracy lives everywhere.  Maybe it made someone smile because, they too, are having a bad case of the Mondays.  I pinkie swear that I was perfectly amenable to all the people I had to deal with on the phone and I will say that it was a little embarassing when I actually had to face them later that morning in the office.  But getting a simple test should not be so difficult.

I have no real good way to wrap this up except to say, have a great monday y’all!  Happy Running too.

1 Comment »

  1. A light rain can be so nice in the summer. And goodness, I hate dealing with healthcare.

    Comment by runjess — June 22, 2009 @ 18:34


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

