MarathonMaiden's Blog

June 29, 2009

Can I get a Dimmer Switch, please?

Filed under: Uncategorized — Tags: , , , — marathonmaiden @ 18:40

Lately my stress level is totally NOT a dimmer switch thing-y-ma-bob and rather an ON/OFF switch.  I wish it was though, because, well the on tends to be bright and blinding.  Like now.

Suddenly all the MCAT studying, article/research writing, med school applying seems to be mounting.  And when I feel this way all I want to do is plow through it.  I am very goal (vs process) oriented; I don’t tend to stop and enjoy what I’m doing as long as 1) I pass the MCAT 2) Write this damned article and 3) get into medical school, preferably a good one.

Factor in that I am in charge of the house (and all 5 younger sibs, who for the record listen to no one and have severe attitude problems) for the next 36 hours, and well, you’ve got one stressed out kid! I typically try not to be angry, mostly because I think it’s an unattractive quality and secondly running does wonders with exorcising it. Plus life’s too short to be angry, right? But when no one thinks they have to load their dinner plate in the dishwasher or throw away their trash, well stress leads to angry. And I’m totally not bitter about it or anything. *Inserteyerollhere*

Luckily I still have running.  And lifting.  Which is what I did this morning because I woke up on the wrong side of the bed due to my stress level. And, despite getting 10(!) hours of sleep last night I woke up exhausted so maybe that just exacerbated the bad mood.  I did have a creepy dream last night that also might have sontributed to the tiredness and while I won’t give y’all a play-by-play I will say that it involved ants oozing out of the pores of my skin. Ick, ick, ick. In fact, I still shudder when I think about it.

But anyway, on to the running.  This is supposed to be a running blog after all! I decided to take out my bitterness on some dumbbells and my muscles first so I did an intense lifting circuit: legs arms and abs.  It felt really challenging and hopefully I’m sore tmrw from it.  Part of it was the fourth week of the hundred pushup challenge and I love how my arms feel like jello when I’m done.

Apparently when I was doing all the lifting, the sun decided to come out and the rain to stop.  Ordinarily I would love this but it made the weather outside soooooo humid.  Not cool.  At. All.  I still went out for a 6-ish mile run to completely drain me of my anger.  The pace was semi-relaxed(?). I mean, I wasn’t *pushing* it but my mood fueled a faster-than-easier pace, which was nice and I enjoyed feeling tough. I do agree with Jess, who commented on my last post, that I looked like I just hopped out of a shower with the humidity (which is also wrecking havoc on my hair).

In the larger scheme of running-things, I’m at the point where I’m far enough away from my marathon that I should start thinking about my next big race.  But I’m not yet far enough away to want to run another one yet, heh.  The idea of simply training for 26.2 miles is daunting.  I am, however, toying with the idea of entering the local 5 on the 4th race (5 miles, not 5k).  Obviously the 4th of July is this upcoming Saturday (how is it July already?!) and it isn’t something that I’m spending time actually training for but maybe it will give me a kick in the [pants] to get excited about racing again and starting training for something.  Most fall races would have a start training cycles around now. Hmmmm, sounds like perfect timing.

Plus, maybe having a training plan, rather than a workout schedule, will help turn my on/off stress cycle into a nice dimmer switch, or at least give me a rock to shut the switch to off more than on.  (Haha ok so that was my lame attempt to wrap things up and come full circle. FAIL.)

P.S. Because my posts are always so darn long, if there’s something you find boring / interesting let me know!

1 Comment »

  1. When do you begin applying to med schools?

    If you don’t have the itch to do another marathon yet, don’t do one. Maybe a half? Those are fun.

    Comment by runjess — June 30, 2009 @ 16:51


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

