MarathonMaiden's Blog

July 1, 2009

Sweet Success

Filed under: Uncategorized — Tags: , , — marathonmaiden @ 22:15

After spending forever on the phone I managed to get another $50 visa gift card sent to me because…well the card technically expired June 9th BUT it was labeled on the card 06/09.  Ummmm would you actually read that as the 9th of June on an exp date? Yeah me either.   And after talking to one person and then working up the chain of command I was able to get that cash, or rather a new card.  Yippee. And I managed to do it without being rude and mean.  Double yippee.

After all that aggrevation I hit the roads for a very nice 7 mile run.  The weather wasn’t as nice as yesterday and the rain finally let up for me to get out there.  I mean, I don’t have a problem with running in the rain.  It’s just tenbillion times harder to start in the rain rather than have it start raining mid-run.  The latter is so much more enjoyable.  And about a mile away from home the thunder started up.  Like real real loud. Clearly the last mile was the fastest.  I made it home just in time because the sky opened up and the rain came down in buckets for the rest of the day.

The run itself wasn’t anything to write home about.  It was a little slower than usual but it wasn’t one of those slow runs where every step feels like crawling and it’s physically painful to go so slow.  I’m actually quite happy about that, as I used to be the runner that had to have every run be faster than the last.  It’s really nice to just go and enjoy the experience, which is what I’ve been doing lately.

Times will change though, as I’ve received such positive feedback about racing a half (or two) this fall.  That would put me starting a 12 week plan, two weeks from now.  Any suggestions for a good training plan? I’ve used SmartCoach from RWOL but I’m looking to push myself further than I’ve done before.

I also did week 4 day 2 of the hundred pushup challenge and I love the way my arms are looking and feeling.  I obviously wasn’t working my arms in the right way lifting before because I am very impressed with the tone of my arms (yes I am that vain) but also I do feel stronger which is a huge plus. Hopefully this translates to my arms not feeling dead during races.

Speaking of which, I still haven’t decided to run the 5 miles on the fourth.  I’m pretty sure I want to do it, but I haven’t raced a shorter race since October.  I’m just a wee bit scared of failure, and having such a long hiatus makes me nervous that I will forget how to face something short.  I mean, I’ll do it for that reason alone but it would be nice if I felt more confident about it.   In any case it’ll be a great experience, which will lead to more confidence next time 🙂

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

