MarathonMaiden's Blog

July 6, 2009

Clouds Overhead

Filed under: Uncategorized — Tags: , , , — marathonmaiden @ 21:00

And I don’t mean literally. The weather has been spectacular the last couple of days.  Finally, as the month of June only had FIVE sunny ones.

The cloud I am referring to is my “professional” life.  I mean, the cloud is lifting in some respect because I finally got my spiffy looking Children’s Hospital I.D. badge, meaning that I can finally go to the clinic and interact with patients! Hizzah! Getting this i.d. was a process, however, with me calling a billion different departments and having to make a spontaneous trip into the city.  But it’s over so I really can’t complain. Especially since I look damn good in my i.d. picture, if I do say so myself haha.

The impromtu trip changed my running for the day.  Not that I minded because I *needed* to make the drive but it left me leaving my house for my run at 12:30, which is normally when I’m getting back. Despite the later (and hotter) time I manage a really good quick clip.  I was running like I was in a rush, which I really wasn’t but since I’m such a creature of habit, leaving later stressed me out physiologically even though it wasn’t big deal mentally.

After I did a full body circuit which felt great and capped it off with a warm down for a total of 10 miles for the day.  Woot! I was nice and sweaty after the run.  Plus I was starving because I ran through lunch.  I ended up eating my normal lunch PLUS a cereal, granola, blueberry and yogurt mix.  Yum.

Well, anyway back to the cloud.  I should be studying for the MCAT right now.  I took a prax test over the weekend and didn’t do too hot on it.  I know that I have 4 weeks left until the test, plenty of time, but I should be reviewing the concepts that I was shaky on. Instead I’m watching The Closer (amazing show!).  Oh well, tomorrow is a new day.  But with old weather as there are predicted storms for most of the late morning and all afternoon. Plenty of time to buckle down and get my study on, right? Of course, but this procrastination is making me feel all heavy.

P.S. I was going to write a post on My Running but decided to make it a new page.  I figure new ppl who want to check out the site might enjoy having it readily accessible rather than having to hunt through old posts.

P.P.S. Based on my last post, a lot of you are early bird runners who don’t eat much (if anything) beforehand either.  Nice to know I’m not (completely) crazy! LARunner made a good point, though, about making sure to drink something to prevent dehydration.  Very very good point. As I was saying to my friend the other day, I need to start drinking early and often.  And while I was being flippant and talking about another kind of drinking, the point still remains: drinking water = dehydration prevention.

1 Comment »

  1. Wow, 4 more weeks, huh? At least it will be over!

    Comment by runjess — July 7, 2009 @ 17:18


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

