MarathonMaiden's Blog

July 14, 2009

First full long day

Filed under: Uncategorized — Tags: , — marathonmaiden @ 20:42

Well I guess it hasn’t really been *that* long of a day per se I guess.  But it was my first full day and I’ve been up since 530 so I’m going to call it a long one.

My wake-up was at the aforementioned 530.  I wanted to get a run in before heading into the clinic and I’d much rather get up early than wait and do it after dinner and late.  Oddly I felt more awake at 530 than I typically do when I get up at 6.  Maybe my brain was just jarred into being awake or something because I felt like I had mental acuity than I almost never have.  It was like being hyper aware of everything.  Doubly odd because I went to bed fell asleep around midnight.

My run was pretty freaking awesome too.  I didn’t get to see the sun rise (still up too late for that) but I got to see that pretty little hue that tells you it’s freaking early. My pace was also faster than normal. Like a minute per mile faster. Maybe there’s just something to running extra early and sleep deprived. We’ll see tmrw when I get up at 5 so I can get into the city (as opposed to a hospital satellite location closer to home) on time.

And since I was running faster than I planned I had extra time to get ready, which is never a good thing because pressure leaves me no time to sit around and procrastinate.  So I ended up leaving later than I planned.  Oh well.

The first day on the job went well, I guess.  There wasn’t a whole lot of patient interaction on my part.  The doctor that I’m with didn’t have that many patients today so I got to use the hospital computer to do some research and I think I’m getting somewhere with it. I was able to print out a lot of articles to go over tonight and discuss with her (the doc) tmrw.  I also think tmrw the day will be busier patient wise so hopefully I’ll get to learn something in that respect.

Nothing really exciting to tell you. Oh wait! I forgot that there was a kid, who I never met, but I got to look at his MRI for his knee.  He hyperextended it and tore his ACL completely, his MCL partially as well as small tears in a quad muscles and ligaments.  I don’t know if it sounds impressive here but to look at the MRI and see the damage kind of made me awestruck.  I mean, the kid (and I actually don’t know if it was a boy or girl)’s ACL was so puffy that it looked painful to look at. Okay, so lame story but it was really cool if you were there, I swear!

So I’ll leave you with that.  I’m off to go over research and (hopefully) MCAT stuff. Hopefully my lack of tiredness doesn’t catch up to me!

EDIT: still changing around the theme of the blog. Hopefully that’s okay with y’all. I seem to have theme-ADD! haha

1 Comment »

  1. Glad the morning run is working for you! I love getting up early and getting the run in. I hope you continue to enjoy being at the hospital, too.

    Comment by LARunner — July 15, 2009 @ 05:23


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

