MarathonMaiden's Blog

October 27, 2009

Stress? Got that. Stress relief? Yup, that too

Filed under: Uncategorized — Tags: , , , , , — marathonmaiden @ 16:55

Hey y’all.  Going to try to keep this quick as life is stressful at the moment.  I’ve got some stuff in the works to de-stress it, so keep your fingers crossed for me that what I want to do gets approved.  My stress level has been through the roof this semester, not sleeping, no appetite because stomach upset 24/7.  Not good.  But I think it’ll all work out.

And the stress is why I’ve been working out.  So another 6 miles in the books this morning (hey 6 is better than 8 right?).  Actually 6.2 but hey, I like being able to say 10k.  Especially to Hot-Spanish-TA who actually uses the metric system.  Because yes, today was that day, the one where he teaches our class and I like to be able to use the metric system when we talk about stuff we’ve recently done.  And class was awkward today because we kept sneaking stares at each other (today was the first time we seen each other post-bar night on Thursday). And catching each other doing it.  Way to be stealthy.  Ha!

Anyway this blog is RUNNING not how-to-be-15-again.  But it gives me stress relief.  Although my stomach-in-stress-knots is seriously replaced by other stomach knots.  But again, I digress.

THE RUN.  It actually felt pretty good, despite all but the last .2 miles being in the dark.  Because the sun didn’t rise until 0712! Gosh, I so totally need daylight savings BAD.  T-4 days. My legs felt better.  Very strong at the beginning (?) and end.  The mid 2-3 miles felt some fatigue but I was on a loop path and to turn around wouldn’t have saved me any distance.  I guess the Last Mile Party Jess talks about it real.  I mean, I’ve “experienced” it before but nothing like today.  Very pleasant and it’s welcome any time.

Although it’s very tempting with this party my legs throw to tack on more distance.  Just to quickly recap: I’m cutting back my miles because I’ve been going harder and harder each week with no target distance. I just want to give my legs a chance to be at their best when Boston training comes around.  And I’m a little worried that if I keep running and training this hard now and then (potentially) go even harder for Boston that I’m going to get hurt.  And I definitely don’t want that!

I also have been able to enjoy my runs.  This morning, while I didn’t see the sun really rise, I got to see the “cotton candy” sky.  The dawn colors that are so beautiful.  And, once I got off the main road, listening to the sounds of nature.  Plus the crisp air (~35*) was cool enough that I didn’t sweat too much but I was comfy in what I was wearing while not being all bundled up.  Just a trifecta of awesomeness! Gosh, not only am I a 15-year-old gusher, I am such a sap too! But it’s so true: my surroundings were just beautiful. Once I was able to see them that is haha.

Alright then, gotta go tackle some work and cut down on this “Things that Stress Me Out” List!

P.S. Before I do my Facts of Life for today (which I am SO GLAD you like) I just want to say / ask if my replying in the comments section is useful to you? Do you come back and check to see if I’ve replied? I’d just like some feedback 🙂

And now, the Facts of Life

31. I find it hard to believe there are actually people who get in the shower first and THEN turn on the water.

32. Shirts get dirty. Underwear gets dirty. Pants? Pants never get dirty, and you can wear them forever.

33. I can’t remember the last time I wasn’t at least kind of tired.

34. Bad decisions make good stories

35. Whenever I’m internet stalking someone and I find out that their profile is public I feel like a kid on Christmas morning. 546 pictures? Don’t mind if I do!

2 Comments »

  1. 1. Oooooh yay for catching each other sneaking glances! Way to take me back to middle school haha. Maybe you guys should actually converse sometime soon? (you know, not in class)
    2. I’m jealous of your AM running, I love running in the morning but am scared of the dark.
    3. Pants definitely never get dirty. I re-wear mine all the time. In the winter when the sidewalks are all salty and slushy, I would always designate one pair of jeans as “walking to class jeans” that way I would only have one pair of salty jeans at a time. Is that weird?

    Comment by Michelle — October 27, 2009 @ 19:32

    • 1. I will try
      2. I’m semi-scared of the dark, I had to take baby steps to fell (moderately) comfortable running in the dark
      3. NOT AT ALL. I do the same thing. This also cuts down on laundry. Bonus!

      Comment by marathonmaiden — October 28, 2009 @ 08:57


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

