MarathonMaiden's Blog

December 24, 2009

Oh Hello There

Filed under: Uncategorized — Tags: , , , , , — marathonmaiden @ 15:17

my fairweather friends.  I mean I know that today is Christmas Eve Day so lots of people have it off.  But it’s a bit too coincidental that today is the first nice weather day temp wise and I see tons of people out running.  It was quite balmy at 34*.  Where were you guys when it was 22* yesterday or the day before? Hmmmmm?

Oh well.  That probably made me sound really elitist and snobby.  Oops!

So like I mentioned it was pretty nice out today.  Overcast yes, but there wasn’t any wind and the temps were like 10* warmer than yesterday.  Which made it feel like summer or something! Unfortunately the burner in our house went out last night so there was no heat until about 1300 today.  Really weird when it feels as though the outside is warmer than inside during the last week of December!  But never fear the oil man came and supposedly fixed it although I am still in sweats with a blanket wrapped around me with a space heater at my feet.

But I digress.  Yesterday’s run had left me PUMPED.  And Tuesday’s lifting session still has me sore.  Like I was sitting around this morning catching up on things, went to get up and uuuuugh.  I am a creaky old woman.  But with the spirit of someone my age.  Mind over matter my friends because I put on my shoes and hit the streets.

Slow moving at times but I think that was because I chose the hilliest route EVER to do.  I didn’t really even think about it until I got to ’em.  And then all I wanted to do was turn around.  But what kind of bamf would I be if I rolled over and quit at the sight of hills (nevermind the fact that I rarely get to see hills ever in my neck of the woods!).  So I forged on.

Forging for 12.1 miles.  It was a run where I didn’t really feel bad but never felt like I was a superstar.  Kind of run of the mill but hey it’s another 12 in the books. Which is pushing me to the front of the POTM (Pile on the Miles) Challenge Holiday Edition.  Woot! And my drive to keep up this double digit streak.  Going strong!

The last 2 miles were quite fast and I definitely fatigued my legs by the end of it.  I don’t think I could have eeked out another mile.  Good thing because of my ankle.  Guess it wasn’t solely the shoes I was wearing when I last complained of ankle pain because around mile 11 a felt a slight ache (not really a pain) in the same spot.  So I’m icing now (GASP I’m actually doing something medically sound? Heh). And yes Jess I am really surprised too that I don’t have more nagging pains although since it’s now in my head the hypochondriac in me will find something wrong heh.

And since I’m in a disjointed mood (and half my brain is in the novel I started last night babysitting) I’m going to not really switch gears but ask you a question (or two)

1. Well I’m going to preface this question with a story. And sorry if it’s TMI.  Remember that I do want to be a doctor so sometimes questions that are borderline inappropriate / gross don’t phase me.  But over the past two weeks (coincidentally around the same time my miles bumped up big time) my bladder has grown so weak.  I’m not talking about when I’m just bumming around.  But after my long runs I can’t stop running until I’ve reached the bathroom.  No joke.  Yesterday and today especially I couldn’t even stop in my driveway and walk up to the house.  I had to run into the house.  Thank god it was unlocked and I didn’t have to fumble with a key.  So here’s the question: Normal? Is my bladder just getting annoyed at being jostled for 10-12 miles? Because I have a bladder of steel when it comes to any other time during the day.

2. Totally not running related but: when I reply to your comments in the comments section are you getting email notifications? I think that’s what I have it set to but I’m not sure and I don’t want you guys to think that I’m ignoring you!

And finally before I dive back into my book (Which is But I Trusted You. I ❤ Ann Rule) I need more questions from you! I have 11 so far and I’m fully prepared to make it a game of 11 questions but I’d really like 20. Pretty please? 🙂

HAPPY CHRISTMAS EVE!! Hope everyone is celebrating in the manner that pleases them 🙂

[Edit to add: Wow I just re-read this and my brain is all over the place. I blame the holidays and the “runners brain” effect of my run haha]

4 Comments »

  1. The BAMF-ness continues! Great run. I’m so glad you posted about the weaker bladder thing. I thought it was just me. Not really during the run, but during the day and a night. I tend to over-hydrate all day so maybe that’s the reason. Let me know what you find out.

    Comment by a marathoner — December 24, 2009 @ 19:27

  2. Good job on your 12 mile run, that’s awesome!

    I’m a pre-med student too, so don’t worry about your TMI stories, I love hearing anything medical related:) Good luck with your studies!

    Comment by Ada — December 24, 2009 @ 20:27

  3. Sigh…could I please have your legs, drive and mileage :(. Love how your love for running really shines through. You are special girl. Merry merry Christmas…not drink and eat up some Christmas goodies for all them runs your pumping out 😉

    Comment by eatmovelove — December 24, 2009 @ 21:36

  4. um we’re runners…so pretty much NOTHING is tmi! Sorry about the bladder. I have no idea why that is, although I’ve heard of it from other runners. Maybe do some searching on RWOL and see what comes up.

    Merry Christmas!

    oh, as for your responses, at the end of the comment box there is an option “notify me of follow-up comments via email.” If I choose it, then I get it.

    Comment by runningfiance — December 25, 2009 @ 12:28


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

