MarathonMaiden's Blog

December 25, 2009

Happy Christmas!

Filed under: Uncategorized — Tags: , , — marathonmaiden @ 14:58

Hope everyone is celebrating Christmas in the way that they want 🙂

Luckily my siblings didn’t get up with the sun like they’ve done in every other year I’ve been alive.  They waited until 0800 this morning which is when I was waking up anyway.

Anyway for me Christmas is camping out in my room until the family leaves for my Uncle’s house (which is where they are now) then vegging out (reading most likely)  until tonight when I get to see Holmes with one of my close high school friends.  I ❤ Robert Downey Jr. so I’m wicked excited.

Of course running happened too and, like the past couple of Christmases, I wore my Santa hat.  Just so that people can’t say I’m a complete Scrooge heh. I also wore a red long sleeve with a green short sleeve over it.  Yes I have Christmas spirit.  And the weather, while definitely not Christmas weather, is so nice out.  Nice bright and sunny so it feels even warmer than the 36* it actually is.  Feels like 50* or so honestly and according to the weather reports it’s suppose to be that warm tomorrow.  Crazy.

I saw a lot of runners out today.  Not really surprising since lots of people make sure to get that workout in before feasting heh.  None of them as decked out as me though. I got a great 12.6 mile run in at a good clip.  It felt slow at times and really fast at times but overall it averaged out.  There was one hill that almost made me walk.  Almost though.

And I have a funny (well to me.  I guess I’m too dumb to be embarrassed by this) story related to the question I posted yesterday about my bladder (and I still want an answer too. Preferably a medical one my doctor friends? You know who you are 😉  Or at least someone to tell me my suspicion is correct and my bladder is just unhappy with the jostling running does to the lower torso organs).  Which I’m sure you can guess where I’m going with this already. And I apologize if anyone finds this unfunny or gross or immature or whatever.  I actually do find it funny. Maybe not the final outcome but certainly the whole situation. And I do recognize that this might lower my BAMF status.

By the time I had finished my run the family had already left for Christmas dinner so the house was locked up.  Which is fine in theory.  Tell that to my bladder though because I’ve known since mile 5 that when I stop running, be it at mile 5, 10 or 12.6, I’ll need a bathroom.  If you recall I said yesterday that my routine lately has been to sprint into the house and into the bathroom stopping, oh ummm, never? So this whole, get my hidden key, unlock the door THEN try to get to the bathroom thing? Yeah not so great.  But my bladder held miraculously. Seriously a Christmas miracle.

So at this point I’m feeling good about myself even though I don’t shut the door behind me nor do I remove my shoes, sunglasses etc.  Because let’s face it I still need to go.  I make it to the bathroom and go to pull down my shorts and my shirt is tucked into my shorts and my fingers don’t have full circulation and therefore don’t have full manipulation capabilities.  Problem? Yes.

And I’m not saying I full on wet my pants.  Because I didn’t.  But I did a little bit; kind of like if you laugh really really hard. Yes I think I am trying to justify this haha. I am 23 years old but do not have the bladder of one. At least after a long run because I do have a bladder of steel any other time during the day.  Even while drinking.

So I hope you enjoyed my story on this lovely Christmas day.  I’m still not sure if I should be embarrassed and sharing this but since almost everyone who reads this is a runner I’m hoping that you understand.  I mean if Uta Pippig can poop her pants during the Boston Marathon (and win) then I think a little bladder weakness on my part shouldn’t be too big a deal.

And I hope this hasn’t detracted from your Christmas spirit in any way 😛

Now it’s kicking back with a glass of wine (yes it’s only 1500) a good book, music (NOT of the Christmas kind) until my date with Sherlock Holmes.

HAPPY CHRISTMAS ALL!!

3 Comments »

  1. Ha. Ha. That’s the Christmas spirit. Thanks for sharing. That made me LOL. I had the same issue early this week. Started freaking out about locked public restrooms. It’s very bamf to hold it in for 12.6!

    Comment by a marathoner — December 25, 2009 @ 16:45

  2. Love it! And yeah, I have many bathroom stories from the past that are farrrr more embarrasing than yours! …Actually, I just came in from the video store today and was ‘busting’ to go so bad…I swear I ‘leaked’ alittle – I just ran straight to the bathroom with my wet shoes and winter jacket on and all…darn the blasted drawstrings on my waist pants…;)
    Can’t wait to hear about Holmes! You don’t eat Xmas dinner?? You dooo eat right? Not one of those ‘crazy non-eating runners’ are you!?? either way, I like the wine and book idea. sweet. me? well, my run sucked a$$ – I almost too embarassed to even mention it – basically crawled through 5 miles …at like 10 min/mile pace…I don’t know what’s happened to it. Just not in me or my legs…and here I thought a month ago I was getting somewhere. Ugh. Anyways, enough of that novel haha!!

    Comment by eatmovelove — December 25, 2009 @ 21:16

    • Oh don’t worry: I totally do eat. Just today I skipped out on hanging with the relatives and having dinner with them and made my own food at home. And then after the movie I went out for Chinese (and drinksssss)

      Comment by marathonmaiden — December 25, 2009 @ 23:47


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

